Studying Geography at the №2 University in the world for Geography, I must confess that Geography Department at UNN has taught me well!-cofounder Greenage Technologies

--

Uchechukwu Ogechukwu

I remember telling my professor here in a conversation that, I had good professors in my Undergraduate classes.

Uchechukwu Ogechukwu, who graduated with First Class Honours in Geography in 2018, is the co-founder of Greenage Technologies, an indigenous manufacturer of smart solar Inverters in Nigeria. He has been striving to tackle the Nigerian power problem with green technologies. According to him, his Geography studies at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) have enabled him to become aware of the effects of environmental disintegration and the importance of policy and development initiatives to improve the situation in a country such as Nigeria.

Uchechukwu is one of the 2022 winners of the prestigious Commonwealth Shared Scholarship award to study for a MSc in Environment and Development at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). Ogechukwu decided to do a Masters to advance his knowledge to play critical roles in the professional space, especially in renewable energy and climate change:

Due to my involvement in renewable energy and climate change, I desired to add policy-making and consulting to my pursuits. Thus, I concluded that an MSc would be the optimal route.

Uchechukwu is happy to study at LSE and underlined how studying Geography at the University of Nigeria has prepared him for his masters journey. The super lion and spatio stated that studying Geography at UNN has been a core foundation to his success especially as a foreign student at LSE:

The four-year program I completed at UNN has been an important part of my studies at LSE. I was able to select courses related to my chosen specialization for my Master’s degree such as Urban Africa, Politics of the Environment, Economics of the Environment, and Climate Change Economics. I feel fortunate to have had a solid foundation in these topics due to studying Geography at UNN. In addition to having a firm grasp on politics, the knowledge I acquired in Biogeography, Urban Geography, and Environmental classes, particularly on Climate Change and Sustainability, proved to be essential to my success as a foreign student. I recall telling my professor at LSE during a conversation, “My Undergraduate professors were excellent, which is why I know these.”

The great spatio asserted that the four-year program with an industrial experience was a unique one and, furthermore, that the selection of courses was extraordinary. I am pleased that the Department of Geography at UNN does not view itself as a Map-studying Centre (as those who are not geographers perceive the field of Geography). Geography at UNN appears to be prepared and I would advise them to incorporate climate change and energy as major components of their programme.

See also

My idea of Greenage Technologies was birthed while studying Geography at the University of Nigeria -Uchechukwu Ogechukwu Co-founder of Greenage Technologies

--

--

Geography at University of Nigeria

Official Medium page of the Department of Geography at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. Contact : hod.geography@unn.edu.ng