I was lucky to study Geography. My life could have been meaningless without studying Geography-Charles Epundu

--

Charles Epundu

Charles Epundu originally from Onitsha North in Anambra State now a US citizen is an investor, businessman who also work for the US Department of Homeland Security and based in North Dakota in the US. In a chat with Cletus Famous Nwankwo, Charles shares is stories from studying geography to becoming a US citizen. Charles is a graduated of Diploma in Environmental Protection and Management and Bachelor of Geography at the University of Nigeria. The great Spatio graduated in 2008 and did his NYSC at INEC Headquarters, Maitama Abuja. He did his masters in Information Technology at the Girne American University in Cyprus.

Charles’ aunt who he lived with in his high school days wanted him to study a medical related course in the university. He never loved Geography but was unable to gain admission to study medical courses. He would later gain admission to study Diploma in Animal Husbandry at the University of Nigeria but because he had no credit in Chemistry it was impossible to accept the offer of admission. He would then switch to study Geography that year since Geography’s Diploma programme waived the requirement of having a credit in Geography at the O’Level for the start of the programme. S, he got in.

“I was lucky to study Geography.”

He narrated that “I never chose Geography, I wanted to study Marine Engineering but had to consider Medicine because of the pressure from my aunt who was a medical practitioner. During my Diploma programme, I fell in love with Geography. Hence, I decided I was going to do a Bachelors in Geography. I was lucky to study Geography. Geography opened my eyes. I do not know what my life would have been like without studying Geography, it was an eye opener”.

The great Spatio indicated that everything he does now revolves and centres on geography. His love for computers made him study Information Technology in his masters. He said he loves working with computers, so, I looked for an area of geography that has intersection with computers and technology. Hence, he focused Geographical Information Systems (GIS). He learned how to use GIS to digitize maps and doing analysis.

Charles was very much involved in the student leadership during his time at the Department. He was the Provost of NUGSA (Nigerian Universities Geography Students Association) during is Diploma and later the Financial Secretary in the second year of his bachelors and in third year, Secretary General. He noted these experiences have brought out the political potentials he has which he never realised before then. He noted “Geography brought out the best in me. It brought out the brought the political political and computer skills in me that I now use in my career in the US Homeland Security Department.”

The super lion stressed that he loves “the versatility of Geography.” He stated that “in the Department of Homeland Security, we deal with immigration matters, transpiration, population and the geography of America. These issues are what I have studied as part of my course in Geography at UNN in modules like Population Geography, Transport Geography and Geography of the Developed World.” He said that “Geography gave me the tools and avenue, enablement for me to do my job. I can say that I am excelling today because of the foundation I got from studying Geography at the University of Nigeria.” He encourages Geographers to spread the word, tell people about the importance of Geography, to speak out and let people know what they are doing as Geographers.

--

--

Geography at University of Nigeria

Official Medium page of the Department of Geography at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. Contact : hod.geography@unn.edu.ng